SHS is an independent day school for boys from JK to Grade 8. Our mission is to inspire and empower each boy through his formative years.

Board of Governors

Board of Governors 2017-2018

Back row (l to r): Michael Guerriere, Aimee Beeston, Heather Faralla, Doug McCutcheon (Chair), Graham King; Front row: Sarah McEvoy, Lisa Adams, Lesley Marks, Bruce Braithwaite, Donald McLeod, John Cundari, Leela Waxman, Brian O'Hea, Jane Langford; Absent: Massimo Rovazzi, Andrew Clark, Sacha Ghai

The mandate of The Sterling Hall School's Board of Governors is to provide strategic and policy direction for SHS and ensure that fiduciary duties are carried out.

The Board meets 10 times a year at the School, with the Principal, Director of Finance and Executive Director of Advancement present at each meeting. The Board also operates through several Standing Committees (including the Governance, Strategic Planning & Communications, Property and Finance Committees), as well as striking ad hoc committees as needed.

The Board of Governors, through the Chair, interfaces closely with the Principal in evaluating strategic alternatives for the School. The Principal, together with the Faculty and Staff, is responsible for implementing the strategy through policies, budgets and plans, which are approved by the Board. The Board is not directly involved in any aspect of the implementation of these policies, nor is it involved in the day-to-day operations of the School.

The Board of Governors consists of members drawn primarily from parents of SHS students, but it also includes past parents and non-parents. Each Board member serves for a three-year term. Potential new members are profiled carefully according to a number of criteria, to ensure that the Board collectively has the skill set, insight and perspective to successfully execute its mandate.

Research shows that one of the most important factors in the success of an Independent School is having an effective Board of Governors. At The Sterling Hall School, we are very fortunate to have a Board comprised of talented and dedicated Governors.

Sterling Community

We value an engaged, supportive community that nurtures a sense of belonging and fosters lifelong relationships.

  • © The Sterling Hall School
  • |
  • Site Map
  • |
  • Privacy Policy
  • |
  • Contact Us
powered by finalsite